sweater slushie

sweater: DIY American Eagle via Winners, skirt: Club Monaco, boots: Locale, necklace: Anthropologie *photography by rsimmen

 

I was feeling inspired by Sienna Miller’s cute cropped sweater from Top Shop, so I decided to do my own version! I’ve had this American Eagle sweater for a few years now, and it was forgotten at the back of my closet – it was a perfect fit for DIY #2. When you are altering a knit, it can sometimes be tricky because as we know, a knit can unravel pretty quickly. So instead of doing a hem at the bottom, I kept the original hem and created a seam where the knit style changes. Easy- Peasy.

 

xo denj

 

 

 

ps. I just wanted to say THANKYOU! to Kate of O My Heart for featuring me on her blog last week. It absolutely made my day! xo

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “sweater slushie”

  1. Liz Says:

    Of Denj this is adorable! The way everything comes together is just perfection. Especially loving that necklace 🙂

  2. herCatwalk Says:

    This is an adorable look! Love the bright skirt.

  3. Cee Says:

    I’m loving your DIYs! My sewing skills pretty much amount to being able to reattach buttons, so I’m becoming envious 🙂 Love your necklace, too- it’s such an amazing statement piece 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  4. Becca Says:

    Your diy sweater turned out so beautifully!

  5. Katie Says:

    Great DIY!! I also am a huge huge fan of that necklace. I wish they still sold it! ugh..adorable!
    -Katie

  6. Lyddiegal Says:

    This is adorable, your updated sweater is perfect for layering now, and i love the stormy sea.

  7. Karen Says:

    I love this look on you, though it’s only been ‘good in theory’ for me so far. I think the sweater was too thin, yours looks just structured enough. Lovely blog!

  8. meagan Says:

    hey there! love your style and blog….I was wondering how did you put that post together did you make a collage and scan it or take the cutout of the mag and scan it? Or take pic from website? Is there a website where i can learn how to do that i have seen plyvore….any feedback would be appreciated thx

    • denj Says:

      hi meagan!
      to make the little collage I scanned in my inspiration image of Sienna Miller from a magazine, and took a photograph of my sweater. i cropped the photo to make it look like it was cut-out too, and assembled the whole thing in Photoshop. I haven’t heard of any other websites that do that other than polyyvore to be honest!

      I hope that helps!

      xo Denj

Leave a Reply

