portobello burger


{photo by me}

My little sister and I have recently decided to go veggie, for various reasons that I won’t get into, but I will say that we are having so much fun trying out new recipes and options! This is a recipe for a portobello mushroom burger – it was our first attempt and we were so pleased with the results! They were substantial, filling, and flavourful, and I would definitely make them again! (they were SO SO much better than the frozen veggie burgers from the grocery store… which I guess should be obvious because homemade things always are…haha)

Anyways! The recipe below is basically from THIS website. We made a few changes along the way by adding more fresh spices, using portobello mushrooms, and adding a few almonds along with the walnuts.  Enjoy!

3/4 cup (185 mL) chopped walnuts
1 Tbsp. (15 mL) olive or canola oil
3 cups (750 mL) sliced mushrooms
1 onion, peeled and chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 19 oz. (540 mL) can lentils, rinsed and drained
1 tsp. (5 mL) Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp. (2.5 mL) thyme
Salt and pepper
1/2 cup (125 mL) fresh bread crumbs
1/4 cup (60 mL) chopped fresh parsley, basil, and chives

In a large dry skillet, toast the nuts over medium heat for 5-7 minutes, until golden and fragrant. Set them aside. Add the oil to the skillet and sauté the mushrooms and onion for about 5 minutes, until soft. Add the garlic and cook for a few more minutes, until all the moisture has evaporated.

Put the mushrooms and onion in the bowl of a food processor along with the lentils, Worcestershire, thyme, and salt and pepper to taste. Pulse until the mixture is well blended. Transfer it to a bowl and stir in the bread crumbs and parsley (if using).

Shape the mixture into patties and fry them in a little oil in the same skillet set over medium heat. Cook until they’re golden and crusty on both sides, flipping them as you need to.

xo denj

recipe found on itsjustfood.net

5 Responses to “portobello burger”

  1. Cee Says:

    Welcome to vegetarianism! I’ve been veggie for two years now and I have never once missed meat… I think that becoming a vegetarian really opened me up to new foods and lead me to discover all kinds of delicious things I never would have eaten otherwise. These burgers look great! Good luck with your experiments 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  2. Alycia Says:

    yum yum yum yum!

  3. Kristin Says:

    Yum! I was vegetarian for 7 years, and really, things can be JUST as delicious. This looks like no exception. Mmmm.

    Admiring what you are doing, lady! ❤

    Kristin

  4. Louise (Fifth Sparrow) Says:

    mmmm!! Thank you for this!! I went veggie a year ago and love it, but still hanker after the quintessential summer burger when my friends are bbq-ing (though, I guess not for the meat, just the memories… if that makes ANY sense!)
    I can’t wait to test this out! xx

  5. A Fine Balance Says:

    So looking forward to making this after the competition.
    My plan is to try to eat “clean” and vegan and vegetarian as much as i can.

Leave a Reply

